Mon, 01 Jun 2020

New Zealand win toss, bowl against England

08 Nov 2019, 16:42 GMT+10

3:00 AM ET

New Zealand win toss, bowl against England

New Zealand captain Tim Southee has won the toss and chosen to bowl first in the fourth T20I of the series against England in Napier.

New Zealand made two changes to the side that won the previous match in Nelson. Trent Boult came into the side in place of Lockie Ferguson, a change that was planned ahead of the series, while Jimmy Neesham was ruled out due to illness and replaced by Daryl Mitchell.

England also made two changes. Knowing they have to win this match to stay in the series, they recalled Jonny Bairstow - who has also been put on stand-by for the Test squad due to concerns over the fitness of Joe Denly - and Chris Jordan. Saqib Mahmood, who has conceded 95 runs from his eight overs in the series to date, and James Vince, who is the highest run-scorer in the series, were the men to make way.

Matt Parkinson, who bowled only two overs on his international debut in Nelson, retained his place ahead of Adil Rashid.

"I probably would have bowled," England captain Eoin Morgan admitted at the toss. "It looks like a fantastic wicket." Morgan also reasoned that, "a year down the road," the inexperienced side that stumbled to defeat from a promising position in Nelson would have won that game "nine times out of 10."

He suggested that, with the experience of Jordan and Bairstow, England were a strengthened side.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Colin Munro, 3 Tim Seifert (wk), 4 Colin de Grandhomme, 5 Ross Taylor, 6 Daryl Mitchell, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Tim Southee (capt), 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Trent Boult, 11 Blair Tickner

England: 1 Jonny Bairstow, 2 Tom Banton, 3 Dawid Malan, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Sam Billings (wk), 6 Sam Curran, 7 Lewis Gregory, 8 Tom Curran, 9 Chris Jordan, 10 Matt Parkinson, 11 Pat Brown

More Jordan News

Access More

Sign up for Jordan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!